HCAA 2016

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children's books.  Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.

The 2016 Jury, selected by IBBY's Executive Committee from nominations made by its national sections, comprises the following ten distinguished members from across the globe.  Jury President Patricia Aldana (Toronto, Canada) will lead the Jury to select the winners of the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen awards.

Former IBBY Vice President Elda Nogueira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and IBBY Executive Director Liz Page are ex officio Jury members.

The Jury President will guide the judging process and preside at the jury meeting January 2016.  The shortlist will be disseminated immediately following the Jury meeting and the winners will be announced at the IBBY Press Conference at the Bologna Children's Book Fair on 4 April 2016.

Presentation of Hans Christian Andersen Award 2016

IBBY Announces Winners of the 2016 Hans Christian Andersen Award

HCAA Shortlist 2016

HCAA Nominees 2016

HCAA Jury 2016