HCAA 2018

IBBY Announces the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children's books.  Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.

The 2018 Jury, selected by IBBY's Executive Committee from 17 nominations made by its national sections, comprises the following ten distinguished members from across the globe.  Jury President Patricia Aldana (Toronto, Canada) will lead the Jury to select the winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen awards.

Denis Beznosov from Moscow, Russia

Yasuko Doi from Osaka, Japan

Reina Duarte from Barcelona, Spain

Andrej Ilc from Ljubljana, Slovenia

Eva Kaliskami from Athens, Greece

Shereen Kreidieh from Beirut, Lebanon

María Beatriz Medina from Caracas, Venezuela

Yasmine Motawy from Cairo, Egypt

Lola Rubio from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Junko Yokota from Evanston, IL, USA

Former IBBY Vice President Elda Nogueira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and IBBY Executive Director Liz Page are ex officio Jury members.

The full list of the 2018 nominees will be announced at the IBBY press conference on Monday, 3 April 2017 at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair.