HCAA 2020

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children's books.  Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.

The 2020 Jury, selected by IBBY's Executive Committee from nominations made by its national sections, comprises ten distinguished members from across the globe.  Jury President Junko Yokota (Chicago, USA) will led the Jury selecting the winners of the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen awards.

The Jury, in wanting to help build bridges of understanding, has created a list of outstanding books from the 2020 nominees that they felt were important enough to merit translation everywhere so that children around the world could read them, thus expand their access to some of the very best books: 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Jury Recommends.  Books from the shortlisted nominees are also highly recommended.

For immediate release:

The 2020 HCAA Shortlist PDF here and Hans Christian Andersen Award 2020 Shortlist Film here


HCAA 2020 Shortlist

HCAA 2020 Nominees

HCAA Nominees 2020 - Author Profiles

HCAA Nominees 2020 - Illustrator Proflies

HCAA 2020 Jury