

For Immediate Release

21 October 2020

Contact: Liz Page
IBBY Executive Director
liz.page@ibby.org

PRESS RELEASE

IBBY Announces the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of books for young people. Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important and lasting contribution to literature for young people.

The following were selected to serve as members of the 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury under the guidance of Jury President Junko Yokota (Evanston, IL, USA):

- Antoine Al Chartouni from Lebanon is a writer and professor at the Lebanese University.
- Marilar Aleixandre from Spain is a writer, poet, translator, and jury member for literary awards.
- **Evelyn Arizpe** from Mexico/UK is a professor and researcher of Children's Literature at the University of Glasgow.
- Mariella Bertelli from Canada is a bilingual storyteller and former children's librarian.
- **Tina Bilban** from Slovenia is a senior research associate at the Institute Nova Revija and works as a freelance literature critic, editor, author, and translator.
- **Viviane Ezratty** from France is a librarian and former Director of the Médiathèque Françoise Sagan in Paris.
- **Jiwone Lee** from South Korea is a lecturer in the Polish department of the Hankuk University and in the department of illustration at the University of Seoul.
- **Robin Morrow** from Australia founded the first children's bookshop in New South Wales and has taught Children's Literature courses at several Australian universities.
- Jaana Pesonen from Finland is a university lecturer in the Education department of the University of Helsinki and researcher of Children's Literature.
- Cecilia Ana Repetti from Argentina is a Children's Literature specialist and was the Children's and Young Adult Literature Director Editor for SM in Argentina.

IBBY Executive Director Liz Page (Basel, Switzerland) is an ex officio Jury member.

For more information about the IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award, the IBBY programme and all current projects please visit the IBBY website at: http://www.ibby.org