

For immediate release 6 March 2023

IBBY Announces the candidates to the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award

During the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) Annual Press Conference held at the Bologna Children's Book Fair on Monday 6 March, Hans Christian Andersen Jury Chair Liz Page announced the candidates to the 2024 edition of the Award.

The IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to creators of children's books whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature. The Author's Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator's Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress.

The recipients of the awards are selected by a distinguished international jury of literature experts.

The 2024 Hans Christian Award received 59 nominations from 33 countries:

Argentina		
Writing Jorge Luján	Illustration Gusti	
Armenia		
Writing Nouneh Sarkissian		
Australia		
Writing Gary Crew	Illustration Matt Ottley	
Austria		
Writing Heinz Janisch	Illustration Helga Bansch	
Belgium		
Writing Bart Moeyaert	Illustration Anne Brouillard	

Brazil	
Writing Marina Colasanti	Illustration Nelson Cruz
Canada	
Writing Angèle Delaunois	Illustration Sydney Smith
Chile	
	Illustration Paloma Valdivia
China	
Writing Gerelchimeg Blackcrane	Illustration Cai Gao
Colombia	Colombia & Venezuela
Writing Triunfo Arciniegas	Illustration Ivar Da Coll
Croatia	
Writing Sanja Pilić	
Cyprus	
Writing Anna Kouppanou	Illustration Dora Oronti
Egypt	
Writing Affaf Tobbala	
Finland	
Writing Timo Parvela	Illustration Linda Bondestam
France	_
Writing Marie Desplechin	Illustration Gilles Bachelet

Germany	
Writing Andreas Steinhöfel	Illustration Nikolaus Heidelbach
Greece	
Writing Angeliki Darlasi	Illustration Kelly Matathia-Covo
Italy	
Writing Roberto Piumini	Illustration Beatrice Alemagna
Iran	
Writing Jamshid Khanian	Illustration Alireza Goldouzian
Japan	
Writing Joko Iwase Republic of Korea	Illustration Ryoji Arai
Writing Lee Geum-yi	Illustration Kwon Yoon-duck
Lebanon	
Writing Samar Barraj	Illustration Maya Fidawi
Netherlands	
Writing Edward van de Vendel	Illustration Thé Tjong-Khing
New Zealand	
	Illustration Gavin Bishop
Poland	
	Illustration Iwona Chmielewska
Russia	
Writing Andrey Usachev	Illustration Julia Gukova

01	101	าเว
υv	CI	на
	•	
	ΟV	over

Writing Peter Svetina	Illustration Damijan Stepančič
Spain	
Writing Fina Casalderrey	Illustration Elena Odriozola
Switzerland	
Writing Franz Hohler	Illustration Catherine Louis
Turkey	
Writing Miyase Sertbarut	Illustration Akin Düzakin
UK	
Writing John Agard	Illustration Jackie Morris
USA	
Writing Judy Blume	Illustration Christian Robinson
Uzbekistan	

Writing Raim Hakimzoda Farkhadi