Australian Section of IBBY

IBBY Australia Inc.

c/o P.O. Box 3425

Asquith, NSW 2077


Facebook: @IBBYAustralia



Ms Robyn Sheahan-Bright

Tel. [int. +61] 7 4972 9760


(address of the section)


Vice President
Ms Joanna Andrew

(address of the section)



Ms Margot Lindgren

(address of the section)



Ms Bernice Cusack

(address of the section)


Newsletter Editor

Ms Claire Stuckey

(address of the section)


Bookbird Correspondent

Ms Alyson Simpson





Australia’s national section of IBBY was founded more than fifty years ago. IBBY Australia is the only Australian children’s literature organisation that is a section of an international organisation. It has a unique role, promoting Australian authors and illustrators and their books at an international level; and also working towards international understanding through quality literature for young readers. Since 2011, IBBY Australia has been an incorporated body. There are members in every state and territory of Australia. Activities include celebrating International Children’s Book Day; nominating authors and illustrators for the Hans Christian Andersen Awards and for Honour Books; supporting the Children in Crisis Appeal; nominating books for the IBBY Disabilities List and the Lampedusa Silent Books List, and awarding IBBY Australia’s biennial Ena Noël Award to encourage emerging authors and illustrators. Members receive a quarterly electronic newsletter.


Presidents of IBBY Australia
Ena Noël OAM (1966 – 1990)
Juliana Bayfield (1990 – 2001)
John Foster (2001 – 2006)
Margaret Zeegers (2006 – 2008)
Robin Morrow (2009 – 2018)
Robyn Sheahan-Bright (2018 - current)

Life Members of IBBY Australia
Maurice Saxby AM
Robert Ingpen AM
Jenni Woodroffe
Robin Morrow AM

Australian nominations for HCAA
1976: Ivan Southall
1978: Ivan Southall
1984: Patricia Wrightson
1986: Patricia Wrightson and Robert Ingpen (both winners that year)
2008: Jackie French and Shaun Tan
2012: Christobel Mattingley and Bob Graham
2014: Nadia Wheatley and Ron Brooks
2016: Ursula Dubosarsky and Bronwyn Bancroft
2018: David Metzenthen and Jeannie Baker
2020: Libby Gleeson and Ann James
2022: Margaret Wild and Tohby Riddle

Recent news & events

02/04/2020 — IBBY Australia has announced its annual Ena Noël Award for a young emerging author or illustrator, more details can be found here.

IBBY Australia in partnership with the National Centre for Australian Children’s Literature (NCACL) is proud to announce the release of the IBBY Australia Honour Books List 1962–2018. Full press release here.