2010 Hans Christian Andersen Awards Shortlist

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                               

Contact: Susan Raab

Raab Associates

Tel. 00-1 914-241-2117/US


The Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) announces the 2010 Shortlist

Five authors and five illustrators have been selected from 55 candidates submitted by 32 national sections of IBBY for the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award. The award, considered the most prestigious in international children’s literature, is given biennially by the International Board on Books for Young People to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made lasting contributions to children's literature. The winners will be announced on Tuesday, March 23rd at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

The five short-listed authors in alphabetical order are:

·       Ahmad Reza Ahmadi from Iran

·       David Almond from the United Kingdom

·       Bartolomeu Campos de Queiros from Brazil

·       Lennart Hellsing from Sweden

·       Louis Jensen from Denmark

Ahmad Reza Ahmadi's fascinating short stories speak poetically about humanity, love, nature and peace for children and young adults.  David Almond's works are deeply philosophical novels that appeal to children and adults alike, and encourage readers by his use of magic realism. Bartolomeu Campos de Queiros as an author of poetic prose and playful poetry is highly admired for his commitment to beauty and art.  Lennart Hellsing is an outstanding poet, who shares the pleasure of language through his mastery of rhythm, word games and invented words.  Louis Jensen is a powerful storyteller and entertainer who combines magic and reality.

The five short-listed illustrators in alphabetical order are:

·       Jutta Bauer from Germany

·       Carll Cneut from Belgium

·       Etienne Delessert from Switzerland

·       Svjetlan Junakovic from Croatia

·       Roger Mello from Brazil


Jutta Bauer creates a harmony between the verbal and visual language, using a philosophical approach in her originality and creativity.  Carll Cneut's amazing works powerfully narrate stories in his highly recognizable visual language. As a pioneer of modern picture books, Etienne Delessert's impact on many great illustrators around the world can be recognized.  His blending of magic and realism, grotesque and close-ups, has created a distinctive style. Svjetlan Junakovic presents beautiful compositions that are expressive and emotional, while at the same time playful, imaginative and evocative. Roger Mello's world is a rich spectrum of techniques, imagination, colour and inspiration that is considered innovative, fascinating and intriguing.

A full list of candidates can be found at www.ibby.org.

The ten members of the 2010 Jury were led by Jury President Zohreh Ghaeni from Iran. They are: Ernest Bond (USA), Karen Coeman (Mexico), Nadia El Kholy (Egypt), María Jesús Gil (Spain), Jan Hansson (Sweden), Annemie Leysen (Belgium), Darja Mezi-Leskovar (Slovenia), Alicia Salvi (Argentina), Helene Schär (Switzerland) and Regina Zilberman (Brazil). Elda Nogueira from Brazil represented IBBY and Liz Page acted as Jury Secretary.

# # #