New Zealand

New Zealand Section of IBBY

Ms Frances Plumpton

c/o Storylines Children’s Literature Charitable Trust of New Zealand
P.O. Box 96 094
Auckland 1342




Ms Frances Plumpton

(address of the section)


Liaison Officers

Ms Libby Limbrick


(address of the section)


Bookbird Correspondent

Ms Kaaren Hirst


(address of the section)

The IBBY National Section consists of a small Committee working within an organization known as Storylines: Children’s Literature Trust of New Zealand. Storylines was formed in 2000 following a merger of the Children’s Book Foundation (established 1991) and the Auckland-based Children’s Literature Association (established 1968). The aim of Storylines is to increase public awareness and understanding of the value of books and reading for children and young adults in New Zealand, and to support the development of an indigenous children’s literature. Storylines receives no ongoing direct government funding, but seeks sponsorship and support from literary and arts organizations, businesses, and trusts.

The IBBY Committee takes every opportunity to promote IBBY and its activities within the framework of Storylines, such as regular columns in the quarterly newsletter and displays at public functions. It also endeavours to promote New Zealand children’s literature in the world by taking full advantage of IBBY’s awards, functions and publications.

Storylines established the Margaret Mahy Medal and Lecture Award (for a significant contribution to children’s literature), the Betty Gilderdale Award (for services to children’s literature), the Tom Fitzgibbon Award (for a children’s story by a previously unpublished writer), and the Joy Cowley Award (for an unpublished picture book manuscript). Storylines also organizes the annual five-day Storylines Festival of New Zealand Children’s Writers and Illustrators which, by reaching upwards of 50,000 people at events in several cities, is believed to be the largest children’s literary festival in the world. The foundation publishes a yearbook called The Inside Story and a newsletter called What’s The Story? and has created a website at

New Zealand sponsored International Children's Book Day in 2007. The message was by Margaret Mahy, winner of the Hans Christian Andersen Award in 2006: ICBD 2007

IBBY New Zealand hosted the IBBY World Congress in Auckland on 18-20 August 2016: