Nominees 2004

The Hans Christian Andersen Awards are presented every two years by IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People) to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important and lasting contribution to children's literature.

In 2004 IBBY National Sections from 30 countries made their selections, submitting the following 26 authors and 27 illustrators as candidates for the 2004 Hans Christian Andersen Awards:

The International Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury, under the chairmanship of Jeffrey Garrett (USA) and with members from Brazil, Colombia, Iran, Italy, the Netherlands, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, the USA and Venezuela, met in April 2004, to select from among these nominations the winners of the 2004 Andersen Awards. The results were made public at the Bologna Children's Book Fair, April 2004. The Awards were presented on 5 September 2004.

National Section Author Nomination Illustrator Nomination
Argentina Ema Wolf Istvan Schritter
Austria Martin Auer Linda Wolfsgruber
Belgium Bart Moeyaert Kitty Crowther
Brazil Joel Rufino dos Santos Angela Lago
Canada Gilles Tibo Marie-Louise Gay
China Cao Wenxuan Wang Xiaoming
Croatia Visnja Stahuljak -
Denmark Bjarne Reuter Lilian Brøgger
Egypt - Helmi Abdel-Hamid El-Touni
Finland - Mauri Kunnas
France Jean-Paul Nozière   Grégoire Solotareff
Germany Kirsten Boie Rotraut Susanne Berner   
Greece Alki Zei Fotini Stephanidi
Hungary - Krisztina Rényi
Ireland Martin Waddell -
Italy Angela Nanetti Roberto Innocenti
Japan Satoru Sato Daihachi Ohta
Netherlands Paul Biegel Max Velthuijs
New Zealand Margaret Mahy -
Norway Jon Ewo Svein Nyhus
Poland - Józef Wilkón
Portugal Luísa Ducla Soares Danuta Wojciechowska
Russia Eduard Uspensky Alexander Koshkin
Slovak Republic   Ján Uliciansky Peter Cisárik
South Africa Lesley Beake Niki Daly
Spain Juan Farias Javier Serrano
Sweden Barbro Lindgren Eva Eriksson
Switzerland Jürg Schubiger Armin Greder
United Kingdom Geraldine McCaughrean Tony Ross
USA Lois Lowry Vera B. Williams