IBBY Announces New Officers 2018-2020 and IBBY-iRead Award

IBBY Announces New Officers 2018-2020 and IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award

17 September 2018


The following Executive Committee was elected at the IBBY General Assembly held on Saturday, 1 September in Athens, Greece.

IBBY President
Mingzhou Zhang from Beijing, China

President of the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury
Junko Yokota from Evanston, IL, USA

Members of the IBBY Executive Committee
Anastasia Arkhipova from Moscow, Russia - IBBY Vice-President
Carole Bloch from Cape Town, South Africa - IBBY Vice-President
Hasmig Chahinian from Paris, France
Zohreh Ghaeni from Tehran, Iran
Sophie Hallam from London, UK
Basarat Midhat Kazim from Lahore, Pakistan
Ahmad Redza Ahmad Khairuddin from Selangor, Malaysia - President of the 2020 IBBY Reading Promotion Awards Jury
Shereen Kreidieh from Beirut, Lebanon
Nora Lía Sormani from Buenos Aires, Argentina
Sylvia Vardell from Dallas, TX, USA

Ex officio members of the IBBY Executive Committee
Ellis Vance (Fresno, CA, USA) – Treasurer
Liz Page (Basel, Switzerland) – IBBY Executive Director
Janelle Mathis (Texas, USA) and Petros Panaou (Georgia, USA) – Editors of IBBY’s journal Bookbird.

Urs Fröhlicher (Münchenstein, BL, Switzerland) was re-elected as auditor.

The International Board on Books for Young People is proud to announce the establishment of the IBBY-iRead Outstanding Reading Promoter Award. This Award has been established by the Shenzhen iRead Foundation and IBBY to encourage a real commitment to the cause of reading promotion in the hope of spreading this dedication to others around the globe.

The Award aims to encourage further investment by individuals, organizations and governments in the promotion of children’s reading and will stimulate educational innovation, give much greater access to children’s books and an enhanced profile for children’s reading promotion – key tools in global, social, economic and cultural development – all in the context of Article 17(C)) of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. 

Every two years IBBY will invite nominations from IBBY National Sections that recognise outstanding individuals who are working to promote the expansion and development of children’s reading. From the nominations the IBBY-iRead Award Jury will select two winners. The first Awards will be presented in 2020 at the 37th IBBY Congress in Moscow, Russia.

The Jury will look for nominees who have demonstrated a commitment to exploration, innovation, and a sense of responsibility and dedication to cultivating a love of reading and competency in children. Their work may include: the creation and operation of outstanding reading promotion projects; effective promotion of strategies in favour of reading policies; and, advocacy of the children’s right to read. All nominations will be judged on sustainability, influence, dedication to the common good, innovation and inspiration.

The iRead Foundation has pledged 1,200,000 RMB Yuan biennially for twenty years for this important award. The two winners will each receive 200,000 RMB Yuan and, in addition, 150,000 RMB Yuan will be given to a non-profit children’s reading promotion project of their choice. The remaining funds will go towards the administration of the Award and to support the IBBY Secretariat.

To learn more about the iRead Foundation go to: http://www.iread.org.cn

This media release can be downloaded as a pdf here.