Presentation of Hans Christian Andersen Award 2020

Saturday 11 September 2021, Dom Pashkov, Moscow, Russia

Laudatio given by Junko Yokota
Speech by Lee Kye Young, Vice-President of Nami Island (watch the film here)
Acceptance speech by Jacqueline Woodson
Acceptance speech by Albertine

Watch the full ceremony here

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children's books.  Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.

The 2020 Jury, selected by IBBY's Executive Committee from nominations made by its national sections, comprises ten distinguished members from across the globe. Jury President Junko Yokota (Chicago, USA) led the Jury selecting the winners of the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen awards.

View the Recommended books and Bookbird profiles of the HCAA 2020 Winners and Shortlist Authors and Illustrators. In addition to the books of the winners and the shortlist nominees, the Jury has created a list of outstanding books from the 2020 nominees that they felt were important enough to merit translation everywhere so that children around the world could read them: Hans Christian Andersen Jury recommends ... view the books recommended by the HCA Jury in 2020 and 2018 here and download the list of recommendations for 2020 here.   

Bookbird can be read for free on Project Muse until end May - view the Hans Christian Andersen Award edition here

The Hans Christian Andersen Award was featured as part of the Bologna Children's Book Fair online special edition, fairtales

HCAA 2020 Winners

HCAA 2020 Shortlist

HCAA 2020 Nominees

HCAA Nominees 2020 - Author - Profiles

HCAA Nominees 2020 - Illustrator - Profiles

HCAA 2020 Jury