The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international distinction given to authors and illustrators of children's books.  Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.

The 2018 Jury, selected by IBBY's Executive Committee from nominations made by its national sections, comprises the following ten distinguished members from across the globe.  Jury President Patricia Aldana (Toronto, Canada) led the Jury to select the winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen awards.

Former IBBY Vice President Elda Nogueira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and IBBY Executive Director Liz Page are ex officio Jury members.

The Jury President guided the judging process and presided at the jury meeting January 2018.  The shortlist was disseminated immediately following the Jury meeting and the winners were announced at the IBBY Press Conference at the Bologna Children's Book Fair 2018.

A film was produced by Nami Island to highlight the writers and illustrators of the HCAA Short List: go to Hans Christian Andersen Award 2018 Shortlist Film

This year, in light of the Jury’s desire to help build bridges of understanding and to expand access to the very best books they chose to create a list of fifteen outstanding books, some from the short-listed authors, some from other nominees, that they felt were important enough to merit translation everywhere so that children around the world could read them. The 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury recommends ... list can be downloaded here.

Winners of the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award

HCAA Shortlist 2018

HCAA Nominees 2018

HCAA Nominees 2018 - Author - Profiles

HCAA Nominees 2018 - Illustrator - Profiles

HCAA Jury 2018