Nominees 2006

The Hans Christian Andersen Awards are presented every two years by IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People) to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important and lasting contribution to children's literature. IBBY National Sections from 28 countries have made their selections, submitting the following 26 authors and 25 illustrators as candidates for the 2006 Awards:

• Argentina: Author: Ema Wolf; Illustrator: Isol Misenta

• Austria: Author: Adelheid Dahiméne; Illustrator: Heide Stöllinger

• Belgium: Author: Pierre Coran; Illustrator: Klaas Verplancke

• Brazil: Author: Joel Rufino dos Santos; Illustrator: Rui de Oliveira

• Canada: Author: Jean Little; Illustrator: Michèle Lemieux

• China: Author: Zhang Zhilu; Illustrator: Tao Wenjie

• Croatia: Author: Joza Horvat

• Denmark: Author: Josefine Ottesen; Illustrator: Lilian Brøgger

• Finland: Author: Hannele Huovi; Illustrator: Virpi Talvitie

• France: Author: Pierre-Marie Beaude; Illustrator: Grégoire Solotareff

• Germany: Author: Peter Härtling; Illustrator: Wolf Erlbruch

• Greece: Author: Eugene Trivizas; Illustrator: Vasso Psaraki

• Iran: Author: Mohammad Hadi Mohammadi

• Ireland: Illustrator: P.J. Lynch

• Italy: Author: Angela Nanetti; Illustrator: Emanuele Luzzati

• Japan: Author: Toshiko Kanzawa; Illustrator: Daihachi Ohta

• Netherlands: Author: Toon Tellegen; Illustrator: Annemarie van Haeringen

• New Zealand: Author: Margaret Mahy

• Norway: Author: Jon Ewo; Illustrator: Svein Nyhus

• Portugal: Author: Matilde Rosa Araújov; Illustrator: Alain Corbel

• Russia: Author: Sergey Kozlov; Illustrator: G.A.V. Traugot

• Slovak Republic: Author: Lubomir Feldek; Illustrator: Martin Kellenberger

• Slovenia: Illustrator: Lila Prap

• Spain: Author: Jordi Sierra i Fabra; Illustrator: Javier Serrano

• Sweden: Barbro Lindgren; Illustrator: Eva Eriksson

• Switzerland: Author: Hanna Johansen; Illustrator: Etienne Delessert

• United Kingdom: Author: Philip Pullman; Illustrator: David McKee

• USA: Author: E. L. Konigsburg; Illustrator: Ashley Bryan

The International Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury, under the chairmanship of Jeffrey Garrett (USA) and with members from Finland, France, Iran, Italy, New Zealand, Russia, Slovenia, South Africa, the USA and Venezuela, will meet in March 2006 to select from among these nominations the winners of the 2006 Andersen Awards. The results will be made public at the Bologna Children's Book Fair, Monday, 27 March 2006 and the Awards will be presented to the winners at the 30th IBBY Congress in Beijing, China, 20 September 2006.

>Press Release Winners 2006